NO CONFIDENCE VOTE: 88% Express No Confidence in Fordham University President

In an unprecedented show of concern for the future of their University, Fordham’s faculty conducted a vote of no confidence in the University’s President, Father Joseph P. McShane. 611 full-time tenured and tenure-track faculty were eligible to vote; 488 voted; 431 expressed no confidence in the leadership of the President. This represents an 80% voter turnout rate, and an 88% majority expressing their apprehension over the leadership of the university. Fordham Faculty Senate President Anne E. Fernald announced the results of the vote at 5:04pm on Wednesday, April 19th. The certified vote was conducted by an impartial 3rd party vendor.

For more information on the events leading up to the No Confidence Vote, see this Letter to the University Community from Fordham Faculty Salary and Benefits Committee Chair, Professor Andrew H. Clark.

Pictured: Professor Andrew H. Clark, Chair of the Faculty Committee on Salary and Benefits, speaks to a large crowd of faculty, students, and alumni, protesting proposed health care cuts in a demonstration that concluded in the announcement of the results of the No Confidence Vote. Photo credit: Martin Nunez-Bonilla.